This project is read-only.

Compilation Errors

Mar 23, 2010 at 12:51 PM

Hi There!

Sorry if the solution to this is obvious, but I'm new to C# programming...

I get 10 errors when building the Testbed for the X360, note the Windows test bed was fine as were the libraries.

The errors are actually contradictory, 5 say that the DebugDraw override methods are not required (DrawPolygon etc. 'no suitable method found to override') and the other 5 say the opposite! (DrawPolygon etc. '... does not implement inherited abstract member ...').

Is this a known issue? I've tried several variations of google search and found nothing, which would typically point the finger at my doing something wrong.

I've tried this on 4 different pcs, using both the express and pro versions of VS 2008, and XNA 3.1.

Any (helpful) tips would be appreciated.

AlphaQ

Mar 23, 2010 at 2:19 PM

Ah! Slight update to this, I've just tried again on a Windows 7 machine - new installs of VS2008 Express and XNA 3.1, and everything compiles and deploys just fine.

Looks like a linker issue with Visual Studio 2008 (Pro/Express) under XP and Vista?

This is a slight pain, as my development machine is still Vista based.

Would be nice if anyone else could confirm having this issue before I submit it somewhere as a bug.

AlphaQ

Mar 23, 2010 at 5:29 PM

Sorry for spamming your discussion area, but I thought someone might find the solution helpful.

The frameworks referenced by the 360 build of the Box2D.XNA library were refering to the 3.0.0.0 versions of the frameworks, and not the 3.1.0.0 versions.

Not sure if this is a fault with Visual Studio trying to fill in blanks, or the conversion process from PC to 360?

Deleting the previous framework references and replacing them (Microsoft.Xna.Framwork, mscorlib, System & System.Core) with the correct versions resolved the compilation error.

The references in the 360 test bed were all correct.

An interesting learning experience!